Feuerwerk auf der Elbe hinter dem Holländischen Palais 1719 in Dresden
© SKD, Foto: Herbert Boswank

Public Assembly of the Transcultural Academy Towards a Worlded Public

24—25 November 2022, Japanisches Palais, Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden

The Transcultural Academy

The Transcultural Academy, Towards a Worlded Public (2022), at the Japanisches Palais of the Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden (SKD), engages with research inquiries and public articulations of transdisciplinary processes in museums. It explores how artistic practice and curating may speak to - and further develop - a museum public with different perspectives, voices and positionings. The two-day Public Assembly (24-25 November) offers insights into the Transcultural Academy’s current residency programme. This features invited artists and curators from Cameroon, Lebanon, Spain, Vietnam, the Philippines and Germany whose work explores methods for activating transversal publics in exchange with art historians and museum curators at SKD.

SKD’s foundations date back to 1560 as the courtly ‘Kunstkammer’ of Elector August and Electress Anna. Later expanded during the time of the Holy Roman Empire by Augustus II (also known as ‘Augustus the Strong’, 1670-1733), SKD’s cosmogony cannot be separated from tensions between the collections’ imperial property and artistic virtuosity; to this day, SKD remains entangled in structures of coloniality and the power of imagination. In this respect, it also embodies an exorbitant richness of "potential history" (Ariella Aïsha Azoulay), transmitted across generations through forms of knowledge about resistance, care and the undocumented. The 2022 Transcultural Academy addresses this complex history. It further asks: what perspectival shifts can be induced in existing categories of museum classification? What would a true recognition of different positionings look like? Furthermore, can histories which have been violently repressed in the past return to reflect a ‘worlded public’ in the present? How does the notion of ‘worlding’ differ from ‘transcultural,’ ‘cosmopolitan’, ‘diasporic,’ or ‘international’? More specifically, what does ‘worlded’ mean in the context of a museum complex like SKD with a 500-year history? What are the limits of the museum in generating a ‘worlded public’? And most importantly, who constitutes such a public?

These questions draw upon the notion of "radical co-presence" (Bonaventura De Sousa Santos) in which different memory cultures, definitions of art and cultural practices are used to conceive a multi-layered public. Together with resident Fellows and guests of the Transcultural Academy, the Public Assembly aims to deepen transcultural learning processes, rehearse artistic action and discuss methods for creating a more just museum in the 21st century with the SKD as a case study.

Program

Thursday, 24 November 2022

19:00 (CET)

A Worlded Public: Where Do We Stand?
A conversation with Eva Bentcheva (Heidelberg University / Worlding Public Cultures: The Arts and Social Innovation), Lotte Arndt (TU Berlin / Reconnecting ‘Objects’) and Isabel Raabe (Talking Objects Lab) with an introduction by Doreen Mende (SKD / HEAD Genève).

Friday, 25 November 2022

10:00 – 17:00 (CET)

Research Reports by the Fellows of the Transcultural Academy Patricia Esquivias, Saba Innab, Choy Ka Fai, Tuan Mami, Lizza May David and the King Mayesse Foundation with Sebastian-Manès Sprute. 

19:00 (CET)

Conversation with the Fellows of the Transcultural Academy, moderated by Christiane Mennicke (Kunsthaus Dresden) and Thomas Geisler (Design Campus, SKD)   

To the program (pdf)

Participation is possible both in-person at the Japanisches Palais in Dresden and online. 

To register

Follow the livestream

In addition to the Public Assembly, the researcher, curator and author, Agnieszka Roguski, has been invited to be a critical commentator and editor of a living document featuring conversations, introspections, questions and reports stemming from the Transcultural Academy. Roguski will focus on infra-political resonances of the Academy, as well as develop a dislocated, multivocal and transmedial platform for “speaking back” (Sara Ahmed) to the museum complex.

Dates

Currently no dates

Fellows of the Transcultural Academy

Patricia Esquivias is a research-based artist and lives in Madrid. She studied in London (1997-2001) and San Francisco (2005-2007). Her work has been shown in solo exhibitions at Kunsthaus Dresden and Langenhagener Kunstverein, 2021, Centro Arte Dos de Mayo, Madrid, 2016, Kunsthalle Winterthur, 2013 and Museo Arte Contemporaneo de Vigo, 2013, among others.

Saba Innab is an architect, artist and urban researcher working with historical research, drawing, mapping, model making and spatial interventions. She explores liminal states between temporality and permanence through notions of housing and their political, spatial and poetic implications in language and architecture. She was Fellow of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program 2020; recent exhibitions at the ifa Gallery Berlin and the Carnegie Museum of Art, Pittsburgh.

Choy Ka Fai is a Berlin-based artist from Singapore. His multidisciplinary art practice operates at the intersection of dance, media art and performance. Essential to his research is the ongoing exploration and investigation of the metaphysics of the human body. Through research expeditions, pseudo-scientific experiments and documentary performances, Ka Fai appropriates technologies and narratives to imagine new futures of the human body. His projects have been presented at Sadler’s Wells (London, UK), ImPulsTanz Festival (Vienna, Austria) and Tanz Im August (Berlin, Germany).

Interdisciplinary experimental artist Tuan Mami is constantly exploring new methods to evolve through reflective questioning and social research. In recent years, he has begun to explore the concept of *humanity*. In doing so, he observes and questions social interactions between people and people with their environment to reconstruct social processes. Recent exhibition participations include documenta 15 (2022) and Prague Biennale (2020).

Lizza May David (b. Quezon City, Philippines) lives and works in Berlin and studied at the Academy of Fine Arts in Nuremberg and the Berlin University of the Arts. Current exhibitions: Spheres of Interest* - ifa Galerie, Berlin (DE, 2022), Transition Exhibition - Brücke-Museum, Berlin (DE, 2022), The Vibration of Things - Triennale Kleinplastik Fellbach (DE, 2022).

The King Mayesse Foundation is working on its visibility and self-determined representation through the collection of the Staatliche Etnographische Sammlungen Sachsen together with Sebastian-Manès Sprute, also to overcome art history's Eurocentric view of Cameroonian objects.

Agnieszka Roguski is a researcher, curator and writer living in Berlin. She is the Artistic Director of M.1 Arthur Boskamp-Stiftung in Hohenlockstedt, North Germany. In her PhD thesis (Freie Universität Berlin), she investigated postdigital self display as curatorial act from a queer-feminist perspective. In 2022, she was a researcher in residence at the MMCA Seoul, South Korea.

Concept

Concept: Noura Dirani and Doreen Mende, in collaboration with Eva Bentcheva
Coordination: Anna-Lisa Reith
Study Groups (internal): Conceived by Eva Bentcheva, Franziska Kaun and the Lektürerunde der SKD 

The Transcultural Academy Towards a Worlded Public (2022) at the Japanisches Palais results from a collaboration between the Cross-Collections Research Department and the Staatliche Ethnographische Sammlungen Sachsen at Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden. This year’s edition has been conceptualised in consultation with Heidelberg University’s team of the international research project and network Worlding Public Cultures: The Arts and Social Innovation.

Partners and Sponsors

Sponsored by

To top

Feuerwerk auf der Elbe hinter dem Holländischen Palais 1719 in Dresden
© SKD, Foto: Herbert Boswank

Öffentliche Versammlung der Transkulturellen Akademie „Towards a Worlded Public”

24—25 November 2022, Japanisches Palais, Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden

The Transcultural Academy

Die Transkulturelle Akademie Towards a Worlded Public 2022  im Japanischen Palais der Staatlichen Kunstsammlungen Dresden (SKD), befasst sich mit Forschungsfragen und öffentlichen Artikulationen transdisziplinärer Prozesse in Museen. Sie erforscht, wie künstlerische Praxis und Kuratieren ein Museumspublikum unterschiedlicher Perspektiven, Stimmen und Positionierungen ansprechen und mobilisieren. Den Begriff „worlded“, und was eine „Worlded Public“ ausmachen kann, gilt es in diesem Rahmen auszuhandeln. Die zweitägige öffentliche Versammlung (24./25. November) bietet Einblicke in das aktuelle Residenzprogramm der Transkulturellen Akademie. Eingeladen sind Künstler*innen und Kurator*innen aus Kamerun, dem Libanon, Spanien, Vietnam, den Philippinen und Deutschland, die in ihren Arbeiten im Austausch mit den Kunsthistoriker*innen, Wissenschaftler*innen uns Kustod*innen der SKD Methoden zur Aktivierung transversaler Öffentlichkeiten erforschen.

Die Gründung der SKD geht auf das Jahr 1560 als höfische Kunstkammer von Kurfürst August und Kurfürstin Anna zurück. Später, in der Zeit des Heiligen Römischen Reiches von August II. (auch bekannt als „August der Starke“, 1670-1733), erweitert, ist die Kosmogonie der SKD untrennbar mit dem Spannungsverhältnis zwischen imperialem Besitz und künstlerischer Virtuosität verbunden; bis heute ist die SKD in Strukturen der Kolonialität und die Kraft der Imagination verstrickt. In dieser Hinsicht verkörpert sie auch einen exorbitanten Reichtum an „potenzieller Geschichte“ (Ariella Aïsha Azoulay), die über Generationen hinweg durch Formen des Wissens über Widerstand, Fürsorge und das Undokumentierte weitergegeben wird. Die Transkulturelle Akademie 2022 greift diese komplexe Geschichte auf. Sie fragt weiter: Welche perspektivischen Verschiebungen können in den bestehenden Kategorien der musealen Klassifizierung herbeigeführt werden? Wie würde eine echte Anerkennung unterschiedlicher Positionierungen aussehen? Können Geschichten, die in der Vergangenheit gewaltsam verdrängt wurden, in der Gegenwart eine „worlded Public“  widerspiegeln? Wie unterscheidet sich der Begriff „worlding“ von „transkulturell“, „kosmopolitisch“, „diasporisch“ oder „international“? Genauer gesagt, was bedeutet „worlded“ im Kontext eines Museumskomplexes wie den SKD mit einer 500-jährigen Geschichte? Wo liegen die Grenzen des Museums bei der Schaffung einer „Worlded Public“? Und vor allem: Wer ist ein solches Publikum?

Diese Fragen stützen sich auf den Begriff der „radikalen Kopräsenz“ (Bonaventura De Sousa Santos), in der unterschiedliche Erinnerungskulturen, Kunstverständnisse und kulturelle Praktiken genutzt werden, um eine vielschichtige Öffentlichkeit zu konzipieren. Gemeinsam mit den Fellows und Gästen der Transkulturellen Akademie will die Öffentliche Versammlung transkulturelle Lernprozesse vertiefen, künstlerisches Handeln einüben und Methoden zur Schaffung eines gerechteren Museums im 21. Jahrhundert am Beispiel der SKD diskutieren.

Program

Donnerstag, 24. November 2022
19:00 (CET)
A Worlded Public: Wo stehen wir?
Ein Gespräch mit Eva Bentcheva (Universität Heidelberg / Worlding Public Cultures: The Arts and Social Innovation), Lotte Arndt (TU Berlin / Reconnecting 'Objects') und Isabel Raabe (Talking Objects Lab) mit einer Einführung von Doreen Mende (SKD / HEAD Genève).

Freitag, 25. November 2022
10:00 - 17:00 (CET)
Forschungsberichte der Stipendiat*innen der Transkulturellen Akademie mit Patricia Esquivias, Saba Innab, Choy Ka Fai, Tuan Mami, Lizza May David und der King-Mayesse-Foundation mit Sebastian-Manès Sprute.

19:00 (CET)
Gespräch mit den Stipendiat*innen der Transkulturellen Akademie, moderiert von Christiane Mennicke (Kunsthaus Dresden) und Thomas Geisler (Design Campus, SKD)  

Zum Programm (PDF)

Die Akademie findet im Japanischen Palais in Dresden statt. Für eine Teilnahme vor Ort oder digital bitten wir um Anmeldung über die Website.

Anmeldung

 

Die Akademie wird live gestreamt:

Livestream

 

Zusätzlich zur öffentlichen Versammlung wurde die Forscherin, Kuratorin und Autorin Agnieszka Roguski eingeladen, als kritische Kommentatorin und Herausgeberin eines dynamischen Dokuments mit Gesprächen, Auto-Reflexionen, Fragen und Berichten aus der Transkulturellen Akademie aufzutreten. Roguski wird sich auf infrapolitische Resonanzen der Akademie konzentrieren und eine dislozierte, multivokale und transmediale Plattform für das „speaking back“ oder Zurücksprechen (Sara Ahmed) in Bezug auf den Museumskomplex entwickeln.

Dates

Aktuell keine Termine

Stipendiat*innen der Transkulturellen Akademie

Patricia Esquivias arbeitet als forschende Künstlerin und lebt in Madrid. Sie studierte in London (1997-2001) und San Francisco (2005-2007). Ihre Arbeiten wurden in Einzelausstellungen u.a. im Kunsthaus Dresden und im Langenhagener Kunstverein, 2021, im Centro Arte Dos de Mayo, Madrid, 2016, in der Kunsthalle Winterthur, 2013 und im Museo Arte Contemporaneo de Vigo, 2013 gezeigt.

Saba Innab ist Architektin, Künstlerin und Stadtforscherin und arbeitet mit historischer Forschung, Zeichnung, Kartierung, Modellbau und räumlichen Interventionen. Sie erkundet Grenzzustände zwischen Zeitlichkeit und Permanenz durch Begriffe wie dem des Wohnens und deren politische, räumliche und poetische Implikationen in Sprache und Architektur. Sie war Stipendiatin des DAAD-Künstlerprogramms 2020 in Berlin und hatte zuletzt Ausstellungen in der ifa-Galerie Berlin und im Carnegie Museum of Art, Pittsburgh.

Choy Ka Fai ist ein in Berlin lebender Künstler aus Singapur. Seine multidisziplinäre Kunstpraxis bewegt sich an der Schnittstelle von Tanz, Medienkunst und Performance. Wesentlich für seine Forschung ist die ständige Erkundung und Untersuchung der Metaphysik des menschlichen Körpers. Durch Forschungsexpeditionen, pseudowissenschaftliche Experimente und dokumentarische Performances eignet sich Ka Fai Technologien und Erzählungen an, um sich neue Zukünfte des menschlichen Körpers vorzustellen. Seine Projekte wurden unter anderem in Sadler's Wells (London, UK), beim ImPulsTanz Festival (Wien, Österreich) und bei Tanz im August (Berlin, Deutschland) präsentiert.

Der interdisziplinäre experimentelle Künstler Tuan Mami erforscht ständig neue Methoden, um sich durch reflektierendes Hinterfragen und soziale Forschung weiterzuentwickeln. In den letzten Jahren hat er damit begonnen, das Konzept der „Humanität“ zu erforschen. Dabei beobachtet und hinterfragt er soziale Interaktionen zwischen Menschen und Menschen mit ihrer Umwelt, um soziale Prozesse zu rekonstruieren. Zu seinen jüngsten Ausstellungsbeteiligungen gehören die documenta 15 (2022) und die Prag Biennale (2020).

Lizza May David, geb. in Quezon City, Philippinen, lebt und arbeitet in Berlin und studierte an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste in Nürnberg und an der Universität der Künste Berlin. Aktuelle Ausstellungen: Spheres of Interest, ifa Galerie, Berlin (DE, 2022); Transition Exhibition, Brücke-Museum, Berlin (DE, 2022); The Vibration of Things, Triennale Kleinplastik Fellbach (DE, 2022).

Die King-Mayesse-Foundation arbeitet gemeinsam mit Sebastian-Manès Sprute an ihrer Sichtbarkeit und selbstbestimmten Repräsentation durch die Sammlung der Staatlichen Ethnographischen Sammlungen Sachsen, um einen eurozentrischen Blick der Kunstgeschichte auf kamerunische Objekte zu überwinden.

Agnieszka Roguski lebt als Forscherin, Kuratorin und Autorin in Berlin. Sie ist die künstlerische Leiterin der M.1 Arthur Boskamp-Stiftung in Hohenlockstedt, Norddeutschland. In ihrer Dissertation (Freie Universität Berlin) untersuchte sie die postdigitale Selbstdarstellung als kuratorischen Akt aus einer queer-feministischen Perspektive. Im Jahr 2022 war sie Researcher in Residence am MMCA Seoul, Südkorea.

Concept

Konzept: Noura Dirani und Doreen Mende, in Zusammenarbeit mit Eva Bentcheva
Koordination: Anna-Lisa Reith
Studiengruppen (intern): Konzipiert von Eva Bentcheva, Franziska Kaun und der Lektürerunde der SKD

Die Transkulturelle Akademie Towards a Worlded Public (2022) im Japanischen Palais ist das Ergebnis einer Zusammenarbeit zwischen der Sammlungsübergreifenden Forschung und den Staatlichen Ethnographischen Sammlungen Sachsen an den Staatlichen Kunstsammlungen Dresden. Die diesjährige Ausgabe wurde im Austausch mit dem Team des internationalen Forschungsprojekts und Netzwerks Worlding Public Cultures der Universität Heidelberg: The Arts and Social Innovation konzipiert.

Partner and Sponsoren

Gefördert durch

Zum Seitenanfang